We welcome all former students and staff from Ashburton College, Ashburton High School and Hakatere College (formerly Ashburton Technical) to join us.

Our Facebook Feed


Lee Merrin
Lee Merrin

Lee was at college from 1966-1969 and was in Yellow House. She was involved with a few sports, including swimming and the horse riding team.
Her buddy Diane Deuart had a lot of fun together and she rem [ ... ]

Read More
Jarrod Ross
Jarrod Ross

Jarrod was at college from 1988-1993 and was in Orange House.
Not surprisingly, rugby and softball were sports he played for the school and his most memorablemoments were on the First XV’s tour to Au [ ... ]

Read More
Suzanne Duncan
Suzanne Duncan

Suzanne was a teacher at the college from 1990-1992 and was affiliated with Orange House. She managed the girls’ hockey team.
She still remembers her first day, being shown around the campus and she  [ ... ]

Read More



The history of Ashburton College is comparatively short when viewed next to the histories of other Canterbury secondary schools. However, in the half century since Ashburton College’s inception in 1965, thousands of students, teachers, parents and other supporters have shaped Ashburton College into the highly successful co-educational school it is today.

Although it may seem that Ashburton College is the school that was and, always has been Ashburton’s sole secondary school. Those that attended Ashburton College in the early days know that Ashburton College was hard fought for and rose out of the ashes of Ashburton’s two former schools; Ashburton High School and Hakatere College (formerly Ashburton Technical School).

Thus the Latin maxim underneath the College insignia, the Phoenix, chosen by Brian Dr. Ronald Baker –

‘Resurgamus’: “Let us go forward”, or “Rise”.

AshColl from above...


  • Teacher, basketball stalwart, miniball promoter - Dave Rout


    Dave RoutDave Rout and his wife Beckie at Ashburton College’s 50th anniversary celebrations in 2015. Photo Ashburton GuardianBasketball Mid Canterbury has acknowledged the passing of Dave Rout, a former teacher and great supporter of the game in Ashburton.

    Rout’s death on New Year’s Day was a sad one for the country’s entire basketball community – he was a life member of Basketball New Zealand and credited for bringing miniball to New Zealand.

    He devoted himself to coaching the game, particularly at secondary school and junior level in Mid Canterbury, Lower Hutt and Otago.

    In 2016 he was inducted into the Basketball New Zealand Hall of Fame. He and his wife Beckie were also great supporters of the Tall Blacks and travelled around the world to watch New Zealand compete.

    He was 86 at the time of his death.

    Rout was introduced to the game at high school and played the sport in Otago in the early 1950s when he attended Dunedin Teachers’ College.

    After a stint teaching in Lower Hutt, he came to teach at Ashburton Technical College in 1959. He joined the Mid Canterbury Basketball Association and played club basketball for the Gannets team.

    He was a player and coach of the Mid Canterbury senior men’s team and also coached secondary school teams that played in local competitions and regional tournaments.

    Rout was also the association delegate on the Ashburton Sports Hall Management Committee, where he became interested and involved in refereeing.

    He returned to Dunedin in 1968 and spent another seven decades giving to the sport he loved, as a coach and administrator. He served the New Zealand Basketball Federation from 1986 to 1990, most of the tenure as president.

    It was during this time, along with his friend Cedric Cudby, he introduced miniball to New Zealand – a form of basketball adapted to suit junior players, which continues to be loved by young Kiwis today.

    Rout was a fitting guest speaker when Basketball Mid Canterbury celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2005 and is remembered to this day by fellow ballers in Ashburton and students he taught.

    © The Ashburton Guardian - 18 January 2018